Azrieli Fellows Program – postdoctoral opportunities in Israel

The Azrieli Fellows Program welcomes the best and brightest postdoctoral
scholars who wish to undertake postdoctoral research in Israel.  The
time candidates spend conducting research in Israel will provide them
with valuable tools to realize their professional goals through
collaborative association with Israel's world-class academic
institutions and researchers.

The fellowships are awarded on the basis of academic excellence.
Candidates are assessed on their potential to make cutting-edge
contributions to their respective fields.  Aspects of personal
merit and leadership abilities are also taken into consideration
without regard to race, religion, gender, ethnicity or age.


The Azrieli Fellows Program is currently open to scholars in any
field of study who are:

- at the postdoctoral level,
- Canadian citizens or who have completed their doctorate at a
  Canadian university,
- able to obtain an academic sponsor who is a faculty member at 
  one of the seven participating Israeli academic institutions

Participating Israeli Institutions:
Bar-Ilan University, Ben-Gurion University, Technion-Israel Institute
of Technology, Tel Aviv University, The Hebrew University of
Jerusalem, University of Haifa, Weizmann Institute of Science

For more information and to apply, please visit the website at

The deadline is November 1, 2012.
, ,

Microsoft Fellowships

If you wish the department to consider nominating you for a Microsoft Fellowship , ,

please let me know immediately. The department can select 3 applicants for each program.

Microsoft PhD Research Fellowship Program
The nomination deadline for the Microsoft PhD Research Fellowship is October 9, 2012. The Microsoft Research PhD Fellowship is a two-year fellowship program for outstanding PhD students nominated by their universities. This program supports men and women in their third and fourth years of PhD graduate studies. To be eligible for this fellowship, you must apply during your second or third year of PhD studies. Fellowships are granted by Microsoft Research at the discretion of Microsoft.

Microsoft Graduate Women’s Scholarship Program
The nomination deadline is October 16, 2012. The Microsoft Research Graduate Women’s Scholarship is a one-year scholarship program for outstanding women graduate students and is designed to help increase the number of women pursuing a PhD. This program supports women in the second year of their graduate studies. Women who are interested in this scholarship must apply during first year of graduate studies. Scholarships are granted by Microsoft Research at the discretion of Microsoft.


NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowships – deadline October 15, 2012

Applicants apply directly to NSERC.  For more information, please
visit the website:

An important change is now in effect:

Effective as of the 2013 competition, you can only apply once to the 
NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowships (PDF) Program; however, applicants whose 
first PDF application was submitted prior to the 2013 competition may submit 
a second application provided they are within the eligibility window.

It is vitally important now that you apply at the right time for this
fellowship, i.e. there are no second chances.  The right time would be
at the very least with one publication under your belt.  Competition is 
quite stiff.  Please discuss a strategy with your PhD advisor.

Good luck to all who apply.
, ,