The Department of Mathematics invites nominations for the


This prize honors outstanding teaching by post-doctoral fellows and other junior research faculty not on the tenure track. It is named in memory of former chair Frederick Atkinson, “friend to many, scholar, enthusiastic teacher and gifted researcher” [Angelo Mingarelli, Math. Nachr. 278, 2005].

Inspiring accounts of his work and life can be found on:

Previous winners are:

  • Marina Chugunova (2010),
  • Magdalena Czubak, Brian Smithling (2011),
  • Steven Rayan (2012),
  • Oded Yacobi, Jesse Gell-Redman (2013),
  • Prashant Athavale, David Penneys and Alex Rennet (2014),
  • Nicholas Hoell, Geoffrey Scott (2015)

Nominations can be made by individuals or groups, and should be sent by e-mail or in writing to:

Ed Bierstone,
cc to Mary Pugh,
and Donna Birch,

no later than:

FRIDAY, APRIL 29, 2016

Please explain briefly:

  • your reasons for the nomination; (what is special about the nominee’s classes ?)
  • your relevant interactions with the nominee; (e.g., as current/former student, supervisor, or colleague)
  • the course and year on which your assessment is based. (Courses may be at any level but should have taken place on the St. George Campus.)

Below you will find a list of eligible postdoctoral fellows.  Please let us know if you find any errors or omissions.  If your favourite instructors do not appear on this list, they may be eligible instead for the DeLury Award (for graduate students), or the Arts & Science Outstanding Teaching Award.

We are looking forward to hearing from you!  AtkinsonAward2016

ELIGIBLE POSTDOCS (2016, in alphabetical order)

  • Belotto da Silva, Andre
  • Cho, Sungmun
  • Garcia Fritz, Natalia
  • Garcia Martinez, Luis
  • Garcia-Raboso, Alberto
  • Gazeau, Maxime
  • George, William
  • Izosimov, Anton
  • Kolpakov, Aleksandr
  • Le, Daniel
  • Leung, Kin Kwan
  • Lin, Chen-Yun
  • Manin, Fedor
  • Mouquin, Victor
  • Mourtada, Mariam
  • Ojeda-Aristizabal, Diana
  • Peng, Yinhe
  • Qing, Yulan
  • Shen, Xin
  • Song, Yanli
  • Wang, Qingyun

no comment as of now

Sorry, comments closed.